top of page

Governing Body

The President
  • LinkedIn

Angela Fry


Business Group Leader SQ Roads & Highways

GHD Pty Ltd

The President of IPWEA-QNT for the two years commencing from the 2021 AGM held in Cairns, 13 October is Angela Fry.

Past Presidents

T J ABBISS (Jim) 1972-1974 RAYMOND MOORE 1974-1976 W E REILLY 1976-1978 GRAEME HAUSSMANN 1978-1980 B E KILMISTER 1980-1982 DEREK STRINGFELLOW 1982-1984 GIL HOLMES 1984-1986 N D LAWRIE 1986-1987 B D STANTON 1987-1989 P T HENNESSY 1989-1991 JP GARSIDE 1991-1993 PETER WAY 1993-1995 PIETER TAYLOR 1995- 1997 G R CALLAGHAN 1997-1999 KEVIN BICKOFF 1999-2001 JOHN HAWKES 2001-2003 IAN WOODYARD 2003-2005 DAWSON WILKIE 2005-2007 PATRICK MURPHY 2007-2009 DAVID WISKAR 2009-2011 MICHAEL KAHLER 2011-2013 GED BRENNAN 2013-2015 JOE BANNAN 2015-2017 SEREN MCKENZIE 2017-2019 CRAIG MURRELL 2019-2021 ANGELA FRY 2021- (current)

TJ Abiss (30 (2).jpg

Our first President, Captain TJ Abbiss (Jim) served in WWII as an Intelligence Officer for the Royal Australian Engineers, Field Engineers 2/16 FD COY

Ray Moore, IPWEAQ's Second President

Ray (IPWEAQ's second president) visited our facilities in Eagle Farm and inspected the Boardroom, Moore, named in his honour. He also joined us at the 2020 Annual Conference in Brisbane with five other Past Presidents.

Derek Stringfellow, IPWEAQ's Sixth President

Derek was presented with a gift at the 2020 President's Breakfast to mark his 50 years as a formative member involved in the establishment of the Institute, officially launched 2 October 1970. The Stringfellow training room was named in his honour. Derek was featured in the June 2020 issue of Engineering for Public Works.

Gil Holmes, IPWEAQ's Seventh President

Gil and his wife, Marilyn visited us for morning tea at our facilities in Eagle Farm to celebrate the naming of the Holmes room, one of our three training rooms in his honor.

Peter Way, IPWEAQ's 12th President

Peter was honoured at the 2021 President's Breakfast to thank Peter for his contributions to IPWEAQ as President and also to the IPWEA Group with his involvement as Chair of the NAMS Council. Peter was featured in the September issue of Engineering for Public Works.

Ged Brennan, IPWEAQ's 22nd President

Ged Brennan, IPWEAQ's 22nd President and 2020 Engineer of the year.

The Board

The IPWEA-QNT Board comprises eight members including the Branch President/Chair of each of the five branches.

  • LinkedIn

Andrew Johnson

Vice President

Chief Executive Officer, Somerset Regional Council

  • LinkedIn

Glenda Kirk 

NQ Branch President

Director, Infrastructure Services Mareeba Shire Council

  • LinkedIn

Adam Doherty

CQ Branch President

Director, Dileigh Consulting Engineers

  • LinkedIn

Jo O'Brien

SEQ Branch President

Qld Program Manager, Tonkin Consulting

  • LinkedIn

Dereck Sanderson

SWQ Branch President

District Director (Darling Downs), Department of Transport & Main Roads

Peter McLinden-1.jpg

Peter McLinden

NT Chair

Director, Member Services and Infrastructure LGANT

  • LinkedIn

Sean Rice

Board member

Managing Director, Proterra Group Pty Ltd

  • LinkedIn

Sarah Hausler

Board member

Partner, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

Brett Wright.jpg
  • LinkedIn

Brett Wright

Brett, has been appointed Chief Executive Officer of IPWEA-QNT, December 2022.

bottom of page