top of page

Emeritus Members

This award is the highest that can be bestowed on any member. An Emeritus member has served Queensland communities for at least twenty years and made a major contribution to the Institute for a minimum of ten years. Their service and contributions are outstanding in character and recognised by the membership and community generally.

Seren McKenzie

Past IPWEAQ President 


President's Award winner 2018

John Derbyshire

Peter Way

Past IPWEAQ President


Derek Stringfellow

Past IPWEAQ President

and Founding member

1982 - 1984

Ged Brennan

Past IPWEAQ President 

2013 - 2015

Past IPWEAQ Board Member & CQ Branch President

Graeme Wills

Dawson Wilkie

Past IPWEAQ President


Raymond Moore

Past IPWEAQ President

and Founding member


Patrick Murphy

Past IPWEAQ President 


Past IPWEAQ President


Kev Bickhoff

John Hawkes

Past IPWEAQ President


Walter Trestrail

Past IPWEA NSW Vice President


Honorary Members

Honorary members have given outstanding service to the public works sector and/or particular assistance to the Institute. An Honorary Member may be elected for a specific period of time during which the recipient holds a particular position.

Neil Scales OBE

Director General

Department of Transport and Main Roads

Kerry Doss

State Planner, Planning Group

Queensland Department of State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning

Alison Smith

Chief Executive Officer
Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ)

Kym Murphy

General Manager (Roadtek)

Department of Transport and Main Roads

William Lansbury

General Manager

Indigenous Strategy

Dennis Walsh

Chief Engineer

Department of Transport and Main Roads 

Julie Mitchell

 Deputy Director-General Policy, Planning & Investment Department of Transport and Main Roads.

Professor Derek Carson

Executive Dean, Faculty of Society & Design

Bond University

Professor Kevin McDougall

Head of School, Civil Engineering and Surveying at the University of Southern Queensland (USQ)

Narelle D'Amico

Chair, qldwater 

Strategic Priorities Group (SPG)

Brendan Moon

Chief Executive Officer 

Queensland Reconstruction Authority

Amanda Yeates

Deputy Director-General

Infrastructure Management & Delivery Department Transport and Main Roads

Kevin Cocks AM

Executive General Manager, Accessible Transport Network

Department of Transport and Main Roads

Angus Mitchell 

General Manager, 

Maritime Safety Queensland (MSQ)

Department of Transport and Main Roads

Damian Long

Chief Executive Officer

Civil Contractors Federation (Qld)

Life Members

A Fellow who has contributed to the success of IPWEA-QNT over a significant period of time i.e., at least 25 years and who has since retired from the workforce (but may still be in service in an elected capacity).

Gerard Franzman                     

Anthony Jacobs   

Chris Lawson​

Fellow Members

Criteria for Fellowship

  • Membership

  • Minimum five years as a Member of IPWEA-QNT (including other IPWEA Divisions)

  • Involvement with IPWEA-QNT

  • Actively involved in the activities of IPWEA-QNT eg on Working Groups, Branch committees, the Board, as an Ambassador, as a volunteer on any of our community programs and contributions to IPWEA-QNT's Professional Development program.

  • Service to the Sector

  • Contributions to the advancement of the knowledge and skills required for a particular discipline.

  • Experience

  • Active involvement in the delivery of outstanding outcomes for Queensland communities for minimum 15 years.


Glenn Alexander Neil Allen Graham Anderson Lloyd Arnott Phil Bambrick Joe Bannan Rodney Betts Ian Bilkey Michael Borg Mike Brady Patrick Brady Anthony Brockhurst Peter Buchanan Sandra Burke Jeffrey Bunt Luccio Cercarelli Allen Christensen Peter Clark Graham Cook Martin Crow Grayden Curry William Cuthbertson

James D'Arcy Mark de Hayr Jason Devitt Stuart Doak Les Edmistone Michael Egan David Elliott Murray Erbs Sean Fallis Neil Fitzgerald Patrick Flanagan Jose Foruria Angela Fry Rohan Geddes Andrew Gibbs David Goodman Ross Guppy John Gwydir Trevor Harvey Christopher Hegarty Stephen Hegedus Ray Hicks Russell Hood

Aneurin Hughes Peter Hughes Allan Hull Cameron Ives Raad Jarjees Peter Jensen Andrew Johnson Leslie Johnstone Gerhard Joubert Michael Kahler Greg Kennedy Glenda Kirk Roderick Lehmann Anthony Lipsys Andrew Llewellyn Tony McDonald Philip McKone Damien McMahon Ross McPherson Craig Murrell Lorna Oliver Warren Paulger Bryan Payne

Gregory Penhaligon Michael Pickering Ron Piper Scott Pomerenke Gerard Read Sean Rice Andrew Ryan Colin Sandford Darren Shepherd John Tannock Graham Thomsen Warren Traves Silvio Trinca Neville Ward Chris Whitaker Trevor Williams Mark Windress David Wiskar Ian Woodyard Ian Wright Craig Young Moira Zeilinga Peter Zemek

bottom of page