Enhancing the quality of life for all Queensland communities

IPWEAQ Futures Challenge

Each year, IPWEAQ invites final-year university students studying engineering and related disciplines to participate in the IPWEAQ Futures Challenge. The Futures Challenge is part of IPWEAQ's commitment to the development and promotion of our future leaders of public works engineering.

Students are invited to present their thesis or research project to 500+ industry professionals on stage at the IPWEAQ Annual Conference. Students will also be able to receive feedback on their thesis with a poster board displayed in the exhibition area. 

The Futures Challenge winner is chosen by conference delegates and presented with a trophy at the conference closing ceremony. The program is an invaluable opportunity to meet and network with industry leaders, experts and future colleagues.

2022 Futures Challenge Participants

2022 - Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, 12 October 2022

Thomas Murphy - Winner

Rail Track Structure Review and Analysis

Lauren Lord

The Impact of Historic Combined Sewer House Connections on Wastewater Authorities

Previous Futures Challenge Participants

2021 - Cairns Convention Centre, 13 October 2021

Hadi Nourizadeh

Axial performance of fully grouted rock bolts

Clare Ferguson

Management of repeated damage to regional unsealed roads due to flooding

Ryan Ball

Shear strength properties of sand with fines for various moisture contents

Lucinda Sterling - Winner

Alkali-silica reaction crack evaluation using artificial intelligence

2020 - Brisbane Convention Centre, 11 November 2020

Craig van Neuren

How Building Information Modelling software (BIM) is being used in the Architectural and Engineering (AE) industry and how the use of this software is impacted by the AE industries own understanding of BIM. A South East Queensland (SEQ) Perspective

Sally Williams

Influence of Water to Grout Ratio and Curing Time on Pulling out Load of Rock Bolt Systems

Martin Luna Juncal - Winner

Application of Remote Optical Sensors for Real-Time Nitrate Monitoring and Decision-Making Systems. 

2019 - Brisbane International Convention Centre, 23 October 2019

Lucy Bomardieri

Mix Design of Paste Backfill for Underground Mining 

Benjamin Chappell

Quantitative Analysis of Coal Fouling in the Stanwell Power Station Balloon Loop

Brooke Young

Design Proposal for Sustainable Futures Building at The University of Queensland

Mark Tomarchio - Winner

Improved theory for the design of high-speed roundabouts to suit heavy vehicles

2018 - Marriott Surfers Paradise, 11 October 2018

Lindsay Stafford

Controlling and Mentoring Algae Blooms in Effluent Storage Ponds

Matthew Soldatenko

Reinforced Concrete Wall Performance Under Earthquake Loading

Maddy Stahlhut - Winner

Potential for energy generation using pumped storage hydro power in the Toowoomba Water Supply

2017 - Townsville Convention Centre, 25 October 2017

Denver Pollock

Residual chlorine improvement in Woodhill water supply zone

Daniel Marais

Influence of compressibility on soil susceptibility to contact erosion

Michael Sarrun

Optimal design of multi-purpose reservoir system to meet water demands in Townsville 

Matthew Tiller - Winner

Optimization of coil pump technology for use in developing countries of the South Pacific